Earth Day -DIY CD Statement Earrings

20130414-230404.jpg

Earth Day is April 22nd

RECYCLE USELESS CDs into Statement Earrings

Don’t let your useless CDs contribute to pollution and global warming.
The CD Recycling Center of America encourages everyone to mail in their old CDs, DVDs and Blu-rays and the discs will be recycled for free. The CD Recycling Center of America says that those discs can be recycled into new plastic items such as hard hats, recycling bins, office equipment, automotive industry parts and much more.
Be sure to do your part and please remember to spread the word.
*************
When you’re a DIYer like myself then you know that those CDS can also be recycled or remixed into jewelry, decorative mosaic art, candleholders, coasters, etc!!

My contribution to Earth Day is this pair of Statement Earrings made from my useless CDs!

Step 1:
Begin by cutting the CDs into strips.
Caution: Be Very Careful of sharp and flying pieces.

20130414-230838.jpg

Step 2:
The simplest way for me to complete this project was to disassemble a pair of unwanted earrings in order to have a base to work with.

20130414-231223.jpg

Step 3:
Drill a small hole into the top of the cut pieces

20130414-231430.jpg

step 4:
I attached the pieces to the rings on the earring base.

20130414-231642.jpg

I’m in love with these earrings!!
I wonder if someone could tell that they are pieces from a CD without me saying it. 🙂 These are a definite addition to my jewelry collection!!

Side Note: The reflective backing will begin to peel when you cut the CDs. I decided to use a tool to scrape the reflective paper to give it an abstract look. I then painted it with a coat of clear nail polish to prevent the paper from peeling any further.

20130418-090907.jpg

Here’s the link to how to make the clutch handbag in the picture from a Placemat. I also made a Gazing Flower Pot from the leftover CDs.

I hope this project inspires you to get your creative juices flowing and find ways to repurpose things to help save our earth. Please comment with your thoughts and if you love DIY projects, please join and share this blog by using a share button below.

Thank you for stopping by and come back again soon!!
Dannielle

You may also enjoy:

DIY Leather Feather Earrings

DIY Silk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

20140719-171640-62200491.jpg

32 thoughts on “Earth Day -DIY CD Statement Earrings

  1. Bonnie Getchell says:

    I love this! It’s such a great idea and it’s so beautiful! I’m visiting from Show Me What Ya Got through my personal blog. I’m also a writer for Crafting a Green World, though, and every month we do a green crafts showcase where we feature projects like this! I would love for you to enter so we can feature this awesome project! If you’re interested, here’s the link: http://craftingagreenworld.com/green-crafts/

    -Bonnie @ Revolutionaries
    http://www.revolutionariesblog.com

  2. Leopoldo says:

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was
    once a enjoyment account it. Look complex to far introduced agreeable from you!
    However, how could we keep in touch?

  3. preciouspen1955 says:

    So happy to find your blog its amazing ,just love the earrings, I cannot wait to make something pretty for my garden with the old CDs, looking forward to following your blog, happy days.

  4. Colby says:

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very helpful info specially the closing phase 🙂 I deal
    with such information much. I used to be looking for this certain information for a very long time.

    Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

