DIY -Cooling NeckBand

20130617-142142.jpg

The mail carrier lady and I were talking about how the south boasts a hot, humid climate that often times can be unbearable. I suggested that she try one of those battery operated fans that sprays water, but at the same time I was thinking to myself…

DIY Time

I thought back to my days of working at the hospital and seeing the nurses place cold towels on children’s heads or around the backs of their necks when they were feverish. The idea came to me to create some type of cold neck-wear and I’ve got the perfect plan…

Have you ever seen or heard of those Cool Downz® Head Neck Cooling Wraps – Bandanas? Well, they aren’t expensive at all, but I’m all about doing it yourself and if you’re going to wear this thing, I mean… Lets look fabulous!!

what you’ll need

20130617-011344.jpg

No Sew? -Use Ultrabond Tape to create a “pillowcase” like design.

20130617-091810.jpg
Glue Velcro to fabric with Fabric Fusion by iLoveToCreate (this photo was taken after water beads were inflated)

20130617-135712.jpg

Pour about half of the polymer water beads into the casing and close the ends with the Ultrabond Tape.
These non-toxic polymers hold over 100 times their weight in water. Warning: Do not ingest.

20130617-140259.jpg

Submerge the cooling band in water for at least 30mins.

20130617-140341.jpg
Watch it grow!!

20130617-141530.jpg

20130617-092549.jpg

How to use:
Submerge Cooling Band in cold water and refrigerate.
When ready to use, ring out access water and wrap around neck. Secure with Velcro and enjoy the cooling effects!!
As beads began to dry, your cooling neckband will start to deflate. Soak it in water to recharge!
After long periods of use, water beads can be rinsed.
***I’m not sure how this will turn out after the washing machine, but when I get to that point I’ll let you know how it does!!

20130617-141757.jpg

20130617-141810.jpg
This cooling band would be great for Golfers, Mail Carriers, Joggers, Tourists and Sports Enthusiasts. With temperatures in the upper 90’s and the heat index reading “Hot as Hell”, I hope this project inspires you to get your creative juices flowing.

20130617-144026.jpg
This project is sponsored by iLoveToCreate and can be shared with your social media friends by using one of the buttons below.

Oh yea, since you’re here, go ahead and sign up to join The DIY Show… You don’t want to miss it!!

Thank you for stopping by,
Dannielle

10 thoughts on “DIY -Cooling NeckBand

  1. vmg206 says:

    What a great idea! I wonder if these would work for my doggies, too, on a hot day.
    Where do you get those little beads?
    I’m visiting today from Too Cute Tuesday. I hope you get the chance to visit my blog, linkup and leave a comment, too!
    ~ Megin of VMG206
    Join me each Tuesday for Brag About It Link Party
    and Saturday at 5pm Central for DIY Showcase Link Party

    • The DIY Show says:

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by. The beads can be purchased at Walmart in the Floral Crafts Department. They are called Water Beads. Miracle Grow sells them also however I haven’t tried their brand or read the label. These are skin safe and should be ok as long as your doggy doesn’t eat them. My, that could be tragic. 🙂 Happy DIY’ing!!

  2. anisa sain says:

    Luv…………
    This idea is great for the summer HEAT!! I totally love the idea of using fabric because the style is limitless……………thanx for this one 🙂
    Imma definately sport one for the Fourth 🙂
    #happycrafting

    • The DIY Show says:

      Thanks craft protégé!! We live on a golf course and all day long I watch them golf from the living room window. Tomorrow I’m going to give a few of the golfers one to test out for me!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

