Regrow Vegetables in Water

20140219-200715.jpg

I’ve been thinking about starting a herb garden, but sadly I don’t know the first thing about gardening. I’ve also been wanting a kitchen plant but my kitchen has no windows. I’m not sure how popular this is in other places, but I remember seeing Sweet Potato plants in many windows when I was growing up. Empty mayonnaise and relish jars filled with hairy roots bursting with flowery leaves. That’s it, I’m going to give it a try, plus I think my 6yr old will get a kick out of actually watching the vegetables grow.

I’m going to try a sweet potato, green onions, romaine lettuce and garlic.
The first challenge is that I have no idea which end of the sweet potato goes in the water?.?

20140219-200801.jpg

Vegetable Diary

20140219-201046.jpg
The green onions actually started growing the same day and the romaine lettuce by the second day. I’m still unsure about the positioning of the sweet potato (I’m starting to think I have it upside down) and the garlic doesn’t seem to be doing anything at all after 3 days.

to be continued…

Romaine Lettuce

20140222-090325.jpg

Green Onions

20140222-090425.jpg

Garlic
Yes!! The garlic has finally started to sprout on the 4th day. I was starting to get a little worried.

20140222-090511.jpg

Sweet Potato
I’m still not too sure about the positioning of this sweet potato. I know the roots are suppose to be hairy-like. I seriously think I have this upside down. Bare with me please!!

20140220-232616.jpg

to be continued…

UPDATE

I turned the sweet potato over, remember I felt it was maybe upside down. I was advised to cut the bottom off so I did.
3 weeks later….

20140311-155758.jpg

While we’re waiting on these vegetables to regrow, here are some other posts you may enjoy…
Drying Your Own Parsley
DIY Williams-Sonoma Inspired Fragrance
String Art

2 thoughts on “Regrow Vegetables in Water

Leave a Reply

