How I Cleaned My Dishwasher

My dishwasher is one of those things that I’m hugely grateful for. I would hate to have to ever live without one. With my lifestyle, the convenience of having a machine that washes, rinses and dries is priceless.

 Recently I’ve been noticing food stains on the dishes after a complete cycle of washing. 

Huh?

 Why? 

Yuck! 

I was so disgusted by this and thought that we may need someone to come out and service it. But before spending any money, I decided to take a scroll through Pinterest. I found tons of instructions on cleaning dishwashers with vinegar and baking soda so I decided to give it a try first. 

  
Here’s how I cleaned my dishwasher…

  • Clear dishwasher of all dishes
  • Add 2 cups of vinegar to a container and place on top rack
  • Sprinkle a cup of baking soda inside the dishwasher
  • Add a mixture of vinegar and baking soda where the detergent goes
  • Run dishwasher through a complete cycle

This method actually worked for me! My dishwasher is whiter and smells fresher. The next batch of dishes came out sparkling clean without any food residue.  If you’re still having problems after this cleaning method, you should check the drain to be sure it’s not clogged. 

Important Tip: In most cases your garbage disposal and dishwasher share the same drain, so it’s important to be sure to empty the garbage disposal before starting a dishwashing cycle 

Do you have any tips and tricks on getting your dishwasher back to new? I’d love for you to share! 

Well Thanks again for stopping by, 

Dannielle 

Please Pin & Share!!

    Leave a Reply

    