Dia-Buddy (Will you be my Diabetic Buddy)

I’ve been authoring this blog since 2013 and I can say that I can count with one hand the number of times I’ve mentioned D.I.A.B.E.T.E.S

So back in 2009 I was diagnosed as a Type 1 Diabetic. My blood sugar was a whopping 1102!

Yes!! You read it right, 1102

Since being diagnosed it’s been a struggle to maintain a healthy glucose level. I hate when people try to compare me to their grandma or uncle who is type 2 and takes a pill and maybe a little insulin. Type 1 is NOT Type 2. There’s a huge difference. 

I have been hospitalized on numerous occasions with DKA (Diabetic Ketoacidosis).  Here recently I was hospitalized and diagnosed with gastroparesis. My test results showed that my stomach was only digesting 21% of its contents. That’s not good. In reading about this a found that gastroparesis is a chronic illness. That means I get to look forward to these complications forever.  There are medicines that can assist, however I haven’t located the cure. 

I missed out on blogging for awhile due to my work schedule and then I was able to get back into the swing of things and then once again… more distractions appeared. This past hospitalization was the sickest I remember ever being since I was initially diagnosed.  I don’t ever want to feel that bad again.  My goal is to eat better and to commit to taking my medication. Type 1 Diabetes is a funny thing. One minute you’re too high and the next minute you’re too low. It’s so hard to find a balance. Like my endocrinologist said, “it’s like trying to hit a moving target.”

So moving forward I am going to share more about my battle with Type 1 Diabetes. Plus, I need you guys to help me to stay encouraged to fight! I plan to get back to crafting soon, as well as sharing inspirational stories. One day at a time, one day at a time.

Tonight I’m trying Grilled Lemony Asparagus

  

Thanks for dropping by,

Dannielle

Leave a Reply

