Diabetes and Swollen Feet

The struggle continues.

 On my last post I was telling you how I became ill and had to be admitted for 5 days.  I’ve been discharged for almost 2 weeks now and if it’s not one thing it’s another.  I am presently suffering from extremely painful swollen feet, legs and ankles.  My feet have been swollen before, yet I don’t recall them getting as big as they are now or hurting this bad.  I had to elevate my feet for an hour just to get my pants off.  That’s crazy!

The doctor prescribed fluid pills the last time.  I fear fluid pills because for me, they temporarily help one problem but creates another.  If you’ve ever experienced a diuretic then you know it causes you to urinate frequently which can cause you to become dehydrated and boy oh boy being dehydrated puts me in a horrible place.  

I really don’t know what to do about my lower extremities being so swollen. It feels as though I’m walking in cement blocks; did I mention that they really hurt?  Elevating them only seems to be a temporary fix.  The moment I put them back on the ground they blow up again. I’ve been using coconut oil in an effort to soften my skin to help prevent or at least minimize my feet and legs from looking like a road map from stretch marks. 

Please tell me you know of a fix for these Flinstone feet, it’s sandal and sundress season……..

3 thoughts on “Diabetes and Swollen Feet

  1. lindaglovinghome says:

    Hi Dannielle, I’m so sorry to here this. I follow you on wordpress and missed your blogs wondering if you decided to stop your blog. Once reading your last post I tried to leave a message but it kept kicking me out. (Something about your domain name) I hope you feel better soon. I don’t know much about diabetes, but you have my blog buddy support. One day at a time. This may or may not help… but back in the day (I’m much older than you) for swollen feet we used witch hazel rubbing alcohol, soaked our feet, rubbed them down then wrapped and propped them up. Also, two tablespoons of organic Apple Cider Vinegar. πŸ™‚ old school stuff. Wishing you well. Lin

  2. Vintage4YourHome says:

    Hi Dannielle, I can imagine what a difficult time you’re going through. My mom has diabetes and her feet use to swell. Her doctor prescribed water pills and she takes them regularly. Perhaps once your body gets use to them, the swelling will go down. My husband is diabetic also. I have to concur with Linda about using witch hazel, i’ve heard that does very well with swelling. Good luck and prayerfully all will go well for you.

Leave a Reply

