DIY Tiki Torch Stand

I have this thing for the elements!
One of the Fire Elements for my patio Project are these Ugly Blue Tiki Torches. I purchased them in their original state (that wheat looking color) and then I unfavorably painted them blue. Bad choice! (not the color, the product).

20140218-172532.jpg

I like the fact that they represent the element of fire with a convenient refillable lamp oil container and a wick that seems to last a lifetime. These were made to be staked into the ground but I’m dealing with a concrete patio makeover, so it’s time to improvise.

I was thinking that I could make these work by giving them a foundation and that those Stepping Stone Kits sold at Hobby Lobby would do the trick.

20140218-172620.jpg

The Kit was regularly priced at $10.99. I used a 40% off coupon which made it less than $7. The Kit comes with a 8″ square mold but this was going to look really silly as a base for the small tiki torch pole. I used the thingy that the bulk CDs & DVDs come in.

  • Mix it up according to directions

20140218-173302.jpg

  • I poured an equal amount into both containers and allowed the mixture to thicken a little before inserting the tiki torches

20140218-173411.jpg

  • I allowed it to sit overnight and the next morning I was able to pull it right out of the mold.

I gave them an update with Wrought Iron colored spray paint.

20140218-175602.jpg

So what do you think?
I love the way it turned out!! The base has enough weight to help it withstand the wind also.

I can’t wait to get this budget friendly patio completed! Hopefully you’ll be inspired to create your own At-Home Retreat on a Budget as well!!

So far I have knocked out 2 elements. Now on to the other elements to complete this patio project.

  1. Water ✔️ DIY Water Fountain
  2. Fire ✔️ DIY Tiki Torch Stand
  3. Earth (coming soon)
  4. Wind (coming soon)

Thank you so much for stopping by,
Dannielle

You may also want to checkout…
DIY S’mores Roasting Kit

2 thoughts on “DIY Tiki Torch Stand

  1. anisa says:

    Nice. It came out beautiful. I love tikki torches and have a couple outside 🙂 Thanks for sharing this one! A must try!!! I’ll post pics soon 🙂

Leave a comment