DIY Tiki Torch Stand

I have this thing for the elements!
One of the Fire Elements for my patio Project are these Ugly Blue Tiki Torches. I purchased them in their original state and then I unfavorably painted them blue. Bad choice!

20140218-172532.jpg

I like the fact that they represent the element of fire with a convenient refillable lamp oil container and a wick that seems to last a lifetime. These were made to be staked into the ground but I’m dealing with a concrete patio makeover, so it’s time to improvise.

I was thinking that I could make these work by giving them a foundation and that those Stepping Stone Kits sold at Hobby Lobby would do the trick.

20140218-172620.jpg

The Kit was regularly priced at $10.99. I used a 40% off coupon which made it less than $7. The Kit comes with a 8″ square mold but this was going to look really silly as a base for the small tiki torch pole. I used the thingy from the CDs & DVDs.

Mix according to directions

20140218-173302.jpg

I poured an equal amount into both containers and allowed the mixture to thicken a little before inserting the tiki torches

20140218-173411.jpg

I allowed it to sit overnight and the next morning I was able to pull it right out of the mold.

I gave them an update with Wrought Iron colored spray paint.

20140218-175602.jpg

So what do you think?
I love the way it turned out!! The base has enough weight to help it withstand the wind also.

I can’t wait to get this project completed so I can share it with you! Hopefully you’ll be inspired to create your own At-Home Retreat on a Budget as well!!

Now on to the other elements to complete this patio project.

Thanks for stopping by,
Dannielle

You may also like…
DIY S’mores Roasting Kit
DIY Love Letter Pillow

2 thoughts on “DIY Tiki Torch Stand

  1. anisa says:

    Nice. It came out beautiful. I love tikki torches and have a couple outside 🙂 Thanks for sharing this one! A must try!!! I’ll post pics soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

